Without a Filter

I’m tired of your wine-and-dine parade of foods,
Unfiltered for the full effect and captioned too:
It’s “just a little snack” or “dinner made for two;”
I know you say you’re thinking of dear you-know-who,
But keep your kale and eat the lamb,
Just Instagram your love.

I’m sick of selfies, forty-five degrees of space,
The half-seen arm, the posing preen and angled face,
And all the friends who fit into a tight embrace—
I do not care about the sight-seen background place,
Just please adjust your camera-hand
And Instagram your love.

I see your pictures of a dress, but I confess
I want to see that wrinkled wrap you had post-rest
That time I captured something that your eyes expressed
But you detested, discarded with “I look a mess!”
Forget about your filter-tan:
Dear, all it needs is love.

~Michael Danger Caskey

Published in: on November 23, 2014 at 10:15 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://barefootwithbearfeet.wordpress.com/2014/11/23/without-a-filter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

